Group (Bracket) Sizes

Weston Cup & Showcase
Summary of Group Sizes

Terminology of Division, Flights, Groups & Brackets

Division:  Notates the age group, i.e. U15 Division.
Flights:  Within a Division there are Flights based on competitive levels.  For example, Showcase, Gold, Silver or Bronze.
Groups:  Within a Flight, based on the number of teams and the length of tournament, determines how many teams are in a Group.
Brackets:  Based on the Group, teams are placed in Brackets.  For example, a Group of 8 Teams will have two Brackets (A and B), each with 4 teams.

Summary of Groups

Group of Three Teams:  All three (3) teams will play each other playing two (2) games in group play.  Following group play the teams will go into a “playoff” format, where 2nd place vs 3rd place (semi-final) and 1st place vs winner of 2nd/3rd (final).

Group of Four Teams:  Played as a single bracket of four teams in a round-robin format, with the top two teams accumulating the most points advancing to the final.

Group of Five Teams:  Played as a single bracket of five (5) teams, with teams playing two group games, after the two games teams are seeded for playoffs. The quarterfinal match will play Seed #4 vs Seed #5. The winner of the quarterfinal will play the semifinals versus Seed #1. Seed #2 vs Seed #3 in the other semifinal. The winner of semifinal #1 vs winner of semifinal #2 advance to the finals.

Group of Six Teams: Played as two brackets of three teams.  Each team will cross over and play the three teams in the other bracket.  The two teams accumulating the most points from all six teams will advance to the finals to determine which team is the champion (Wildcard 1 vs Wildcard 2).  It is possible that the finalists could have played each other already.

Group of Seven Teams: Played as a single bracket of seven teams with all teams playing a total of four matches.  Note, teams will not play all other teams in the bracket. The team accumulating the most points will be the Champion. The team accumulating the second most points will be the Finalist.

Group of Eight Teams: Played as two brackets of four. The winner of each bracket in round-robin play will advance to the final to determine the Champion and Finalist.

Group of Ten Teams: Bracket A will have four teams (played as a Group of 4).  Bracket B and C will have six teams (played as a Group of 6).  The winner of A will advance to the semi-finals.  Then the next best three teams in Bracket A, B and C, based on points will advance as Wildcard 1, Wildcard 2, and Wildcard 3.  The winner of Group A will play Wildcard 1, Wildcard 2 will play Wildcard 3 in the Semi-Finals games.

Bracket of Twelve Teams: Played as three brackets of four. The winner of each round-robin group and a wildcard (4th best team based on points) will advance to the semi-finals. Winner of Bracket A vs Wildcard and Bracket B vs Bracket C. In the event the wildcard team advances from Bracket “A” they would have already played the winners of the group and therefore the semi-final opponents will be as follows: Winner Bracket C vs Winner Bracket A and Winner Bracket B vs Wildcard.

Bracket of Sixteen Teams: Played as four brackets of four. The winner of each round-robin bracket advances to the semi-finals with the winner of the semi-finals advancing to the championship game.

w w

Questions, please contact the Tournament Director at